Learning Curve

Standard

Tumbling is a learning curve, that’s for sure.  But I’m not entirely sure who has the bigger curve, me or Aubree.  Aubree just picks up stuff left and right.  She would probably pick it up a lot quicker if I wasn’t holding her back.  That was a sad realization.  I’m the one holding her back.  I’m the one who makes her pause or feel unsure, and if I’m there to hold her hand, she doesn’t do it on her own.  Yesterday, they wanted the kids to scoot across a bar with their hands and feet like little monkeys.  I couldn’t get Aubree to understand that she had to lock her legs around the bar and hold on that way.  She just kept going limp like a noodle in my arms.  I was getting frustrated and sweaty and she was just giggling like I was the funniest thing ever (which added to my frustration).  Finally, I got her legs locked on there and just let go.  I don’t know why I let go… my instinct just told me that she’d be fine and that she would hang on.  And she did!!  She didn’t particularly like it all that much, but she hung there till I let her go.  Maybe next week she’ll do even better.  That’s what happened from last week to this!

Then they had them climbing up little cushy stairs and jumping off onto a mat.  I’m not going to lie… that scares me to death.  I’m pretty sure she’s going to break her arm. I seriously can’t just let her take that leap.  And because of my fear, yesterday she was afraid to jump on her own.  Yesterday, when I stood behind her a little, when she couldn’t see me, she just jumped!  Flew right off and laaaaaughed!  I realized just how much I was holding her back.  Where is the line between restricting her from things she needs to be restricted from, and keeping her from doing things that will help her grow?  #momprobs I tell you!

Suffice it to say, I think she’s learning more quickly than I am.  I think it’s going to be really hard for me to just let go and stand back and let her do her thing.  I’m going to try though.  Eek!

Also… there are a few moms who take that stuff way too seriously.  Trying to get two year olds to hop perfectly a certain way seems a little futile to me.  I was just happy that Aubree was following along and having fun…

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

