Who would you be if you weren’t who you are?

Standard

A dear friend and I were talking about this the other day and I have been ruminating on it ever since. (I love the word “ruminating.” It has to be one of my favorites.) I can’t speak for my friend, but she had a very interesting description of who she would be. I’ve been thinking about who I would be. Don’t get me wrong, I like who I am. And, I have made myself more fun, what with the blonde hair and the tattoos and the nose piercing. I like the look. It makes me feel edgy. I’ve never been edgy, and I feel edgy, which makes me sassy, and I like it. But I feel like I’ve always been, and still mostly am, the girl next door. I have to maintain at least a semi-professional appearance. The nose piercing and the wrist tattoo may be pushing it a little. So, I have to dress business casual, my hair has to be groomed, and not a crazy color, and makeup is usually strongly recommended. (Didn’t happen today, but you win some, you lose some.) Who would I be if I wasn’t who I am? I think I’d be lots of people.

First, which is not so much of a stretch, I’d be a horseback riding, hair flying in the wind, boot wearing, cowgirl. I’d rope those little doggies till the cows came home, with a thick Texan twang and all. I have the boots and the twang. I’m lacking the horseback riding, hair flying thing. Oh, and also the roping, but I sure think it would be fun.

Second, I’d be a sleeve tattooed, lip pierced, eyebrow pierced, dark eyeliner, guitar ripping, sassiest rock girl ever. Unfortunately I am lacking in any discernible musical talent. My profession won’t really allow the sleeve, but it doesn’t keep me from wanting it.

Third, I would be an organized, empowered, career woman, soccer mom extraordinaire. I mean I’m a mom and I’m on a career path… but organized, pfft. It’s never going to happen. I’m a tornado.

Fourth, I’d be a crafty, creative, Susie Homemaker, stay at home mom. That actually may be my dream persona. Even more than the rocker girl. She gets to spend a whole lot of time with Aubree, and that’s my favorite.

I’m pretty great too. I think I have some of the components of all those people. I’d have to. They came from my imagination! So I will be the boot wearing, twangy, tattooed, nose pierced, career oriented, crafty, bakey, awesome (hopefully) momma. She kinda rocks. Sometimes she’s a hot mess, but I like her. I’ll keep her. She’s probably who I would be if I wasn’t who I am. Even though she is who I am!!

Who would you be if you weren’t who you are? How many versions of you are there? Time for some self reflection, kids!

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

