Not a Rant

Standard

I was going to write a rant, but I changed my mind.  I decided that it doesn’t matter, what I was going to rant about, it just doesn’t matter.  I decided this post would be MUCH better served if it had something like…….. Fun Christmas facts!!  I’m going to single handedly spread more Christmas cheer than anyone can handle because Lord Almighty, people are in need of it!

First!  I heard this really awesome thing about NORAD today! CONAD started tracking Santa in 1955 when Sears printed an advertisement and instead of including a number where children could call and talk to Santa, they put the number for Colorado Springs’ Continental Air Defense Command (CONAD) Center.  A colonel there, Harry Shoup, instructed his staff to give children who called a current location for Santa!  This tradition continued on and NORAD (North American Aerospace Defense Command) took over in 1958.  How neat is that! They could have just shoved these kids off?  Instead they told them where Santa was flying!  Talk about getting into the Christmas spirit.  Now ever year, children wait and watch to see where Santa is on their local weather channels!  (I do too!!  I wanna know so I can make sure I’m asleep before he comes to my house!!) (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NORAD_Tracks_Santa)

Traditional Christmas colors are green, red and gold.  Green is a symbol of life and rebirth, red symbolizes the blood of Christ, and gold represents light, wealth and royalty.

Alabama was the first state to declare Christmas a Legal holiday in 1836 and Oklahoma was the last in 1907.  I tried to find out when Texas did, but I was not successful.

Candy canes were created by an inventor in Indiana who wanted to spread the name of Jesus around the world.

The scientific name for reindeer is Rangifer Tarasndus.  (That’s probably not interesting to anyone but me.)

Santa’s elves never get cold.  And they live in tiny colorful cottages in the North Pole.

Children’s happiness and belief in the magic of Christmas keep Elves healthy.  (Keep believing!!)

Obviously I believe there is way more to Christmas than this.  This is the time of year that we celebrate the birth of Jesus.  More than that, the fact that God loves us so much to have sent Him to us.  And that He died for us, so that we could go to Heaven and be with God.  That’s the really important part.  All the rest of it is fun, and brings joy, and couldn’t we all use a little joy.  I had a test of this this weekend, choosing joy over anger.  I don’t know that I necessarily chose joy as well as I should have, but hopefully I was more helpful than harmful.  Hopefully you enJOYed this little blog.  (Yes I know it’s spelled wrong, that’s what makes it cute.)

MERRY CHRISTMAS

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

