Aubree Update 19ish Months

Standard

Is anyone up for an Aubree (“Aubee”) update?  I’m pretty convinced she’s a genius, but I’ve been convinced of that since she was born, and will probably be convinced of that until I die.  But what mother isn’t…. but mine is still the smartest.  (See what I did there?)  She is so funny, and her personality so shines.  She’s sweet, loving, kind, giving, ornery, stubborn, a little spoiled (abundantly loved!!), feisty, probably a little mischievous, I could go on and on.  She’s so cute when her little feet pitter patter across the floor when she’s running.  I can tell her to go give someone a hug and she might stop for a second, but then she’s off like a shot running to give them loves.  She’ll lean in and give me a kiss when I ask for “besos.”  Sometimes she’ll throw out her hand as if to say “Oh you!”  Which is just the cutest thing ever.  I’m pretty sure drama is in her future.  She gets so excited at meal time, exclaiming “Mommy, mommy, mommy MOMMY!” if I don’t get her food fast enough.  If she doesn’t like something she kindly takes it out of her mouth and places it directly into my hand.  (YUCK!!) If she gets mad, she throws her food/pacifier/cup onto the ground pretty defiantly.  We’re working on that, I’m not a fan of that game.  It’s one of the very few things about her that makes me REALLY mad.  She’s picking up new words all the time.  She might not say them consistently, but she imitates them pretty well.  She is doing really well at putting them together.  I’m not sure what milestones I should be marking right now because I kind of don’t want to.  I don’t want to compare her to other children.  I just want her to be her.  I feel like if she was really behind, I’d know.  I’d notice that.  She’s picking up new words all the time.  I can’t believe how big her vocabulary is getting.  The only sentence she’s really strung together, though, is “Hi Mama!”  I’ll take it though. Some of her favorite things are:  PUPPIES!!!!!!!!!!!! especially her puppy from Toys R Us that a friend of mine gave her, duckies, shoes (I’m shocked!!), books, Tangled, music of almost any kind, church, climbing up and down off the couch, pizza, grapes, mac n cheese, milk, sweet tea (shhhh don’t tell), Tang (yuck), remote controls, Mimi, Pop Pop, Papa, and her Aunt Kimmy, her sippy cup, her binki (binti), anything pasta, did I mention puppies?  That will send her into a tizzy for sure.  We’ve been working on “Touch nice,” a lot lately, and I find myself less frustrated with the fact that she puts her hands on my face.  I’m fine as long as she’s not grabbing my face, nose, lips, earrings or necklace.  I remember feeling like such a bad mother when I got frustrated at her for that.  Working with her in that area is paying off though.  She definitely thrives on praise and pays attention really well when she thinks she’ll get it.

 

That’s just a little update.  There’s so much more that could be said, but I kinda lost my train of thought.  Whoops!

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

