Random Ramblings

Standard

I don’t know that I have that much to say. Part of this entry is because I figured it would be a good way to practice with my new keyboard on my iPad and part of it because, man, I just want to rant. A lot!! Feel free to ignore me.

So first of all, as a mother I feel required to make mention of the Miley Cyrus antics on the VMA’s. No I did not watch it live. I had better things to do. But after all the buzz about it today, I decided to check it out. Lord have mercy on my soul. Where are her momma and daddy, what do they think of that, or can they even control her anymore? Who knows. All I know is that I’m glad I’m not her mama. I would have to smack the smart ass right out of her mouth. As an aside to Aubree. Don’t ever act like that. Please, please hear my voice in the back of your head saying “Be a lady, or else.” I really hope I can lead by example on the lady thing, but I know I’ll mess up sometimes. Aubree, there are ways of getting notice that don’t require rubbing yourself on some nasty boy. That’s not the kind of attention you want. Get noticed for your brains, and your personality, and your wit and charm, not for your supposed sex appeal. You won’t get very far there. Be a kind, loving, gentile person. Just know that if you’re not, you will NEVER be too old for me to bust your precious behind. And it will be out of love, I promise, and you’ll think I’m the meanest mom ever, but when you have a job, and a house, and a family, and you’re not devastated and alone… you’ll thank me. And then we can be friends, like Mimi and I are. Just keep all that in mind.

My second rant is this. I called to make Aubree an appointment for her 18 month check up. I wanted to do it on Wednesday since Tuesday and Thursday aren’t good. Well apparently there are only so many slots that can be prebooked before they can only accept appointments on the day of. I’m sorry, what?? You mean to tell me that you’re already all prebooked and all I can do is call ON Wednesday and make an appointment for the same day?? I’m sorry, darlin, I work in the real world. We cain’t do things like that, our bosses don’t appreciate it. They expect us to give them advanced notice and they should! She didn’t seem to understand why that made no sense at all!! I’m sorry, I expect to be able to call in advance and make an appointment, not have the preferable option be to call the day of. Someone please explain it to me! (Fair warning, I’m not going to find any reason for this to be acceptable. Probably just shouldn’t try explaining.) I couldn’t get her in until next week. I guess next time I’ll have to start a week in advance making her appointment. So dumb!

Rant number three! Went to United after getting Aubree from daycare after an already melt down at Walmart. Why did I go to United after going to Walmart? I don’t really like the meat or produce at Wally World and my basket was full because I bought a car seat. And Aubree was meltin down, I figured we better change scenery. So I bought cabbage because I’m going to try something new. That’s the whole reason I went into the store. Well the girl couldn’t find it in her little manual, neither of us had any idea what I was talkin about and both of us were confused, and Aubree was losing patience rapidly. The sacker guy took my cabbage to go look at see the price (which was all the way across the store). Then another little sacker guy came up and the cashier sent him after the other guy. Well guy one came back, SANS cabbage… the whole reason I was in the store!!! (I felt that was worth repeating.) About this time, Aubree is getting super wiggly and the cashier is deciding to get attitude, which isn’t helping my already (not so great) attitude. I’m sorry you’re having to deal with me, and I’m sorry you don’t know what you sell, I am however the paying customer, so probably should wipe the nasty look off your face.

All of this was compounded by the first day of class, and people just generally being nutso around campus. Suffice it to say, I’m so glad to be home. Aubree is too, she’s just walking around being her sweet little self. She doesn’t know what a twerk is and when she sticks her tongue out it’s still cute. I don’t think I have to worry about her shaving her head or acting like a moron any time soon. Thank God.

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

