Humbling Moments

Standard

I’m having a few of those lately. Mother’s Day was kind of one of them. It was pretty low key, which definitely suits me. I got to see almost all my favorite people and ended the evening crocheting. That’s a perfect day to me. I don’t even remember last Mother’s Day which is so sad cause it was my first. I do know that I’m much happier this year and that is just very humbling. It reminds me that it really can always get worse.

Today I found out I’m getting a $2000 grant for my summer classes. Tech still pays for me to take one class a semester, so that’s basically $1000 in my pocket for books and living in general. This is such a blessing because the money elephant has been chasin me down the last few days. That big green sucker was about to catch me and get the best of me too. And money isn’t something I can talk about until I’m either in full on crisis mode or everything is better.

It’s humbling to be reminded that I didn’t need to worry. My needs are being taken care of. God heard my cries. And then I realized that I had been praying without any hope of help. How terrible is that! I asked Him for something but didn’t really believe He would provide. Bad. BAD!! God is always faithful to my needs. I should have been more faithful to Him.

I kinda burst into tears over this. I was just so overwhelmed! And then I spilled diet coke all over my white shirt and had to go home and change. Also a humbling moment. I mean what else can you do after all that good news and then to PROVE I’m a hot mess. I just laughed.

Qué será, será.

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

2 responses »

  1. Your blog is interesting, I know this Pastor who preached yesterday on how sometimes we are Christians pray without really expecting God to do anything. I have heard he is a pretty good preacher, I really don’t think so, but maybe you could check out that sermon – we should always pray believing. Excited for you!

Leave a Reply

