Life of a Single Mom

Standard

It sure is interesting.  It seems like I’m constantly picking up Cheerios.  Yesterday I put her on her changing pad on the floor to changer her diaper, forgot to get her diaper, so I had to do that, and by the time I got back to the changing pad, she had crawled out of the room entirely… half nekkid.  So I had to chase her down, and let me tell you, she’s pretty fast!  She’s starting to get into everything.  Saying the word “no” automatically makes everything a game.  Her mood is sometimes unpredictable.  I constantly worry about whether or not she’s gonna throw herself back and crack her head on my tile.  Baby gate is on my long list of “I NEED THIS NOW” purchases.  I feel like then I could put her in her room and let her play while I cook dinner.  At least then she won’t be in her chair or swing screaming (or throwing Cheerios).

I’m still learning how to balance everything, work, baby, school, social life.  I thought once I had a baby, and especially raising her by myself, that my life would slow down.  It did not.  I’m not complaining at all.  I like the hustle and bustle of it all.  I like that I’ve been able to reconnect with my friends and make a strong connection with my church.  If only I wasn’t constantly picking up pacifiers or Cheerios!  She seriously throws them everywhere.  Sometimes I still feel guilty going out and doing things with friends.  I know I deserve a break, theoretically, but emotionally I think “This is about me, not her, that seems selfish.”

She also has a surprising amount of laundry.  I mean technically, it only comes out to two or three loads, but they’re so little!  Which means there’s a lot to fold, and I’m bad about folding my own laundry.  It’s crazy.  How can someone so little have so many clothes?  Oh… right… I’m her mother.  That explains that one.

She is only interested in her toys long enough to pull them all out of the box and then crawl away from them.  Usually to get into the laundry or find the remote.  The kid is obsessed with remotes.  Technology is a beautiful thing, but she is becoming increasingly interested in my phone, which I’m trying desperately to avoid, because as I discovered on Sunday, she WILL throw it.  She’s not too interested in TV, but loves music.  Which is fine with me.  That means on Saturday and Sunday mornings, I can put music on and not have to walk around listening to obnoxious kiddie cartoons.  I’m sure that my luck will eventually run out there… She still loves to be rocked and have a book read to her.  That makes me happy.

Somehow I’ve also managed to find time to lose weight in a healthy way too!  I’m so excited by this.  Before I blamed my weight on not having time to do anything about it.  It was about making time, for sure.  I do it after Aubree is asleep at night.  It seriously takes 30 minutes, sometimes 45, not bad at all.  And of course I have fantastic, motivating friends.  I’m also managing household duties much better.  Just need to get on top of my homework now, and I’ll be all good.  Especially since I’m taking more classes in the summer and fall.  I might need someone to wish me luck!  Eek!

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

