Class

Standard

We listened to a lecture today, I’m not sure when it was from. The speaker was a Dr. Pat Love (haha). She said something that hit me so profoundly I had to start this so I can process through it.

“The behaviors that save us psychically (psyche not psychic) as a child, become very inconvenient to is as adults.” Uh. Yeah! She went on to say that we go for people who either abandon us or engulf us because that’s what we expected as a child. I’m definitely in the engulfing category. I have allowed people to use me up as control me. They take all of who I am and then I’m left with nothing of myself.

How do I work through this and not allow it to happen anymore. How do I change the map of my brain to make sure I can find a balance between allowing people to use me up and pushing them away because I’m terrified of that happening?

It was a super interesting class to say the least.

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

