60 days

Standard

So my divorce papers were officially filed yesterday and in 60 days (as far as I understand it) Andrew and I will be divorced.  I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t just a little excited about it.  I would also be lying if I didn’t say I was a little bit sad.  There is a loss to be lamented here.  Our marriage wasn’t always bad, or even hard.  There was a lot of good, beautiful stuff in there.  Including our daughter.  We made many happy memories.  But it has been more hard and more bad than it has been good.  It’s time to move on.  This isn’t about me not wanting to be tied down.  When I got married I never intended to be untied.  But it is about me not wanting to be weighed down anymore.  For the last year my soul has been so weary.  I didn’t know what it felt like to be rejuvenated and alive anymore.   Naturally Andrew isn’t handling the news very well, and I feel bad that I don’t know what to do or say to help him, but it’s not my job anymore.  (That sounds a little harsh, doesn’t it.)  I feel that I am doing what is best for Aubree and myself.  Aubree deserves the happiest life imaginable, and in order to do that, I need to be happy as well.

I have been accused of taking the easy way out.  Neither way was easy.  They’re both hard.  They both have pros and cons.  But one road had more cons than pros, so I have to take that one.  If being a truly single mother is any less hard than what I’ve been doing already, I sure would like to know how.  Anyway, that’s just a small update from my corner of the world.  I heard some people were calling some of my friends cause they were curious.  They could have just asked me if they wanted to know.  😉

Happy Friday, y’all.

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

