Church, Chick Fil-A and Politics

Standard

I don’t know how to say how I’m feeling without upsetting people on both sides of the argument.  People that I love.  I don’t know how to express how *I* feel because I don’t KNOW how I feel about it anymore.  My marriage, personal life, just life in general has faced a lot of issues in the last two years and it opened me up to a huge realization.  Why do I judge others based on their choices when I don’t want people judging me based on mine!  Time and time again, people have said to me “I don’t know how you do it, I couldn’t’ve stayed.”  Well really, I wasn’t given a choice.  I was told to stay.  Pretty cut and dry, God told me what I had to do, and in some ways that makes it harder.  It means that I’m assaulted on a daily basis by the devil trying to make me find reasons to leave.  As my dad would say (TJ dad not my dad dad (I really need to find better clarification)), “The devil attacks families.”  It’s so true.

I support the Christian church’s right to not support gay marriage.  You know cause we live in America and all that freedom of religion jazz.  Now… I don’t know much about other religions.  I’ve seen people talk about the Muslim religion a bit in relation to this issue, so it makes me think that they might have a similar view.  It does say in the Bible that a man having sexual relations with a man or a woman having sexual relations with a woman is a sin.  It also lists lots of other things that are sins, things that I do on a daily basis.  I’m a sinner!  I’m willing to admit it.  (I’m not going to air out my sins right here, probably.  Those are between me and God really…)  So I don’t feel like I can judge others for sinning, when I sin all the time.

I’m so torn on this issue.  I have gay friends.  Their choices and lifestyle don’t bother me.  I don’t really think it is my place to tell them that they’re wrong.  I don’t know if I believe they’re wrong.  I do know that I want the love and light of the Lord shine through me and going up to someone wagging my finger saying “You’re wrong!!!  You’re a sinner and you’re going to hell!” probably isn’t the best way to do that.  I feel like they’d probably have the right to ask me if I wanted to be the pot or the kettle.  I guess mostly I’m probably a chicken and I don’t want to pick a side in this debate.  I think both sides have valid points, but I also think both sides have mean MEAN extremists.

Back to the things I support.  So I’ve gone over the fact that I support the church’s right to not support gay marriage.  My own wedding happened to be a religious affair with a little bit of legal paperwork for the state.  Since there is a separation of church and state, I don’t think that it is unreasonable for the LGBT population to be asking for people to abide by that and allow them to legally marry within states.  If the churches don’t want to allow them to marry within their walls, well then why can’t a JOP marry someone in a courthouse or a park or somewhere.  Why is this a religious issue at all if we truly live in a society that separates church and state?  (Because we don’t, duh.)  Just like America is NOT a melting pot, it is not a place that really tolerates “religious freedom.”  Yes, you’re free to practice your religion, so long as you’re a Christian.  That’s how I feel sometimes.  On the other hand, there is intolerance going the other way too.  “You can promote whatever belief you want so long as it’s not a Christian belief.”  There’s just always going to be someone feeling the need to bloody the other side.

So, I support the church, and I support the LGBT community fighting for their rights as human beings.  Just because I don’t believe the way someone else believes, doesn’t mean I want them treated like trash.  What happened to equality for all!  (Because we don’t live in a country that REALLY believes that… duh!)

I support Chick Fil-A’s right to not support gay marriage.  More specifically, I support the owner’s right to freedom of speech because that’s what really started this whole thing.  He owns a very lucrative business, thus making it privately owned, it is not owned by any states.  He is allowed to hire who he wants, open his business on the days that he deems appropriate, believe what he wants, because he is after all a free American.  Hobby Lobby doesn’t open on Sundays either.  They’re a business run by a Christian as well.  No one is making a big fuss about their stance on this issue, which I am willing to bed is similar.  I also support people’s right to support the business that they like.

I support people’s right to boycott business that they don’t like!  Like I have previously stated.  We’re free Americans.

I personally will be boycotting Chick Fil-A today.  1)  I just don’t like their food that much especially for the price.  I pretty much only go in there when I have coupons for free stuff.  (And I really just don’t like chicken at all.)  2)  This got turned into a political issue which pisses me off.  (Good job Mike Huckabee!  You made me not go get a chickin sammich today.)  No really.  I don’t think that our fast food is the arena for which we should be fighting political battles.  I think the voting box is.  You don’t like something?  Vote to have it changed.  I commend Hobby Lobby for staying out of this mess.  After all, if I had to boycott them, then I’d have to go to Michael’s to get my yarn, and they don’t have as good of a selection and Hobby Lobby is just so much more fun to wander around aimlessly for hours.

I’m so ready for elections to be over.  Obama, Romney, doesn’t matter, they’re both going to do their best to screw us over.  I have hidden EVERYTHING Chick Fil-A related on my Facebook page the last few days.  Doesn’t matter which side it was on.  If it was even mentioned, I hid it.  I wish Facebook had a function that I could search for certain themes going on on my wall and just mass hide stuff if I needed to.  Hey!  Mark Zuckerburg.  You’re gonna get right on that, right?  No?  Well fine.  I hope this doesn’t offend anyone.  I’ve been thinking on it a few days.  I don’t know how to reconcile the two sides of me.  That happens to me sometimes.  Especially now that I’m getting older and thinking for myself and stuff.  All the STRONG, yet naive, opinions that I had when I was younger seem to be fading into more rational, albeit confused sometimes, beliefs.  Mostly it goes back to, I want to be a good representative for the Lord.  I want Him to welcome me into Heaven when my time comes.  I don’t want Him to say “You remember that time you judged and wagged your finger at So Inso?  You hurt that person with your words.”

 

I hope this post doesn’t offend any of my dear friends on either side of this argument.  That is certainly not my intent.  My intent is to reconcile the two sides of myself and to be held accountable for my actions.  ❤

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

