Accountability

Standard

This is a full on rant…  But I’m hoping that I can glean something from it in the process.  Maybe if I can, you can too, dear Reader.

I’m so tired of people saying something bad about someone and then turning around and being nice.  This happens a LOT at work.  And I’m not saying that I’m perfect of NOT doing it, but I’ve become more aware of when I do it.  Like I’ve said, I really am trying to be a better person.  I just don’t know why people feel the near constant need to bash people.  All the time!  It just makes me really sad.  Especially when it’s directed at people who are 1) new and 2) extremely nice.  Though we shouldn’t do it to people we don’t like either.  The whole “if you don’t have anything nice to say don’t say it at all.”  (I’ll admit, sometimes I’m really bad about that.)

All this just makes me think “no wonder more people aren’t Christians.”  They see us acting like fools and they might think “Well dang!  I should just stay athiest/agnostic/whateverIam and be a nice person, rather than become a Christian and think I’m better than everyone.”  It just makes me think of what we’re learning about in church right now.  Our preacher has talked A LOT about accountability.  He said that he even had/has (I can’t remember if it was present or past tense) an accountability partner.  Wouldn’t it be nice to have someone like that when I say something rude or insensitive… Oh wait… My mom does that.  Yay!  Anyway, all jokes aside.  He also talked about judging others.  He said that the Bible doesn’t say not to judge others.  It says to not judge nonbelievers because “They know not what they do.”  (Brilliant, right!) But that we are definitely supposed to hold other believers accountable.  I don’t think that is supposed to be used in the way I would angrily use it currently.  (Shut up and get away from my office! Is pretty much how that would come out right now.)  In holding myself more accountable though, you betcha, I’m going to hold others around me accountable as well.  I’m not going to do it in a high and mighty way, and not in a “so I can report you to God and you won”t know I’ve done it” type of way either.  I’m reporting you to yourself.  You have been warned.

 

*The views expressed in this blog are soley mine.  They are not the views of my preacher, church, or mother.  If I have taken something out of context, I’m happy to be corrected and correct it here.

And just for fun evidenciary (I find that I’m not sure of the correct spelling of that….) support:

Matthew 18: 15-17

“If your brother sints, go and show him his fault when the two of you are alone.  If he listens to you, you have regained your brother.  But if he does not listen, take one or two others with you so that at the testimony of two or three witnesses ever matter may be established.  If he refuses to listen to them, tell it to the church.  If he refuses to listen to the church, treat him like a Gentile or a tax collector.”

And just because all of us could use some reminding sometimes.

James 3: 5-6, 8-10

“SO too the tongue is a small part of the body, yet it has great pretensions.  Think how small a flame sets a huge forest ablaze.  And the tongue is a fire!  The tongue represents the world of wrongdoing among the parts of our bodies.  It pollutes the entire body and sets fire to the course of human existence – and is set on fire by hell. ”

“But no human being can subdue the tongue; it is a restless evil, full of deadly poison.  with it we bless the Lord and Father, and with it we curse people made in God’s image.  From the same mouth come blessing and cursing.  These things should not be so, my brothers and sisters.

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

