Anything You Can Do, I Can Do Better

Standard

Hey y’all.  It’s soap box time!  Pinterest is a wonderful world.  Sometimes.  It has those funny little snarky card things that people post.  Usually they’re fraught with snide little innuendos of how I’m (general) than you (also general) are.  Or about how much trouble we can get into together.  Or about how stupid others are because they do A, B, C and I do X, Y, Z.  Sometimes they’re funny, sometimes they’re just obnoxious.  They pop up on facebook.  I can’t even like the ones I find funny because when you click through the pictures, two or three pictures in, there are really horrible ones.  I don’t want my preacher (or my mother) to click through those after I have liked one and find the horrible one.  (Yup, the two main people who pop in my head are my preacher and my mother… is that weird?  “Oh well, who cares?”  Golden Girls… anyone, anyone?  Okay moving on…)

Lately I have been seeing a lot of “mom” related ones.  They get my dander up.  Probably because I’m sensitive about the subject anyway.  I’m a working mother.  I LOVE my job, but sometimes I resent having to be away from my sweet baby.  Okay, all the time I resent having to be away from my sweet baby.  But why do I have to be in competition with other moms?  “I work all day, and chase kids, and keep house.  I’m a better mom.”  False.  “I’m a stay at home mom, so my kids will be smarter, better behaved, and obviously I love them more because I stay home with them.”  False.  “I breastfeed, so I’m a better mom than you.”  False.  I can’t think of any reasons why a formula feeding mom would say she was better than a breastfeeding mom.  I’m still having some guilt about not being able to breastfeed.  That wasn’t what I wanted at all.  I desperately wanted to breastfeed, and sometimes when the argument about how breastfeeding moms are better than formula feeding moms comes up, I still get upset.  Maybe that’s where all this comes from, who knows.

All I do know, is that we shouldn’t be competing against each other.  You work, good for you for supporting your child?  You work part-time, I’m glad that you get to do that!  You don’t work, your job is just as hard as mine!  You breastfeed?  That’s great.  You formula feed?  Also great.  In both cases, the child is fed, so I consider that a win.  We’re all mothers.  We all do our jobs the best we can.  We all have things that are sometimes hard to do.  Yes, I have to squeeze all my household duties either into the weekend or the two extra hours I’m awake after Aubree goes to sleep before I go to bed.  (Usually though, I just skip it all together.)  But if you’re a stay at home mom, you have to do all those things, plus chase your child around all day.  I pay someone to get the privilege of spending the day with my kid.  This whole argument just frustrates me.  Have I written a blog about this before?  I feel like I have.  I know I got REAL up in arms about the TIME magazine cover asking “Are you mom enough.”  You bet your rosy little bottom I am!  Just live and let live, mamas!!!  Jeeze.

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

2 responses »

  1. I find most of the card obnoxious. lol Or just not funny. The things I really hate on there are the “Stay Calm and….” Ugh, shut up, and quit telling me to stay calm! If I want to be stressed out all day, it’s my own business. I don’t want to sing soft kitty, I don’t want to drink coffee all day. I don’t want to get bunches of tattoos or invest in real estate in order to maintain my calmness. I don’t want to be a lush to be calm, and I don’t want to be a joiner. I don’t want to be calm and be strong or fabulous. I don’t want to be calm and groovy, cute, classy, fearless, or a cupcake eater. And I really don’t like people telling me to stay calm!!!

Leave a Reply

