3. Describe Your Relationship with Your Parents

Standard

Ah… well.. Let me just say, it’s… wonderful.  Or so I feel.  I think my mother did an excellent job in raising me and my sister, especially when she had to do it alone.  My father was a wonderful man.  My step father IS a wonderful man.  Both he and my mom have been very supportive of me over the last few years.  My mom is so attuned to my feelings, it’s unreal.  My mom can know if something is bothering me even before I say anything to her on the phone.  I don’t know how she does it.  She just has that mommy connection.  I like to think that I’m already creating that with my own daughter.  And while, I’m doing some things very different with my daughter, I hope to raise her in a similar manner that my mother raised me.

My mother always made a very clear distinction between being parents and being friends.  Growing up, she wasn’t one of my friends.  She was very definitely my parent.  She always made sure that I knew she was in charge.  Not in an “I RULE YOU” type of way, but in a “We’re going to do it this way, whether you like it or not, because it is what I truly believe is best for you.”  (And most of the time it was!  Ok, ok, all the time it was!!)  Now that I am older, we’re able to be a little more like friends.  It’s interesting though.  The mommy side of us is out there.  A couple of times we haven’t seen eye to eye.  I can’t even remember about what, but I have uttered the words “I’m her mom, I’m going to do it this way.”  (I’m pretty sure it may have been one of those things I said I was never going to do something and then ended up doing it anyway ((which was the way she suggested))).  She backed off and let me make my decision.  She’s a good momma.  She’s a good grandma.  I hope that Aubree and I have a relationship like my mother and I have when she’s my age.  It’s cliche, but you see those signs around, and they’re so true.  You know, the ones that say “The only thing better than having you for a mom, is my kids having you for their grandma.”

There is absolutely no way I’d’ve made it through the last year and a half without my mom and step dad.  I can tell ya that right now.  I dunno if they’ll read this.  They might.  If they do…. LOVE YOU GUYS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

