Assorted information about my day and oh yeah, I hate the Internet

Standard

Well today we went to go see Andrew.  That made for an early, LONG day.  There is absolutely no reason that I should be required to wake up before my baby on the weekend.  Not even on Sundays because she wakes up well before time to get ready for church.  But I did, and made the long drive to see him.  It was worth it though.  It wasn’t a horrible visit, but it did have it’s ups and downs.  He is so good with Aubree though.  She just laughs and smiles all the time with him.  And it makes him smile too.  It’s good to see his smile.  I’m glad that she can make him smile.  She makes me smile too.  In fact, I’m smiling now.  My stupid smile.  Sara, Kyla?  Stupid smiles… oh the good ole days.  Anyway…

I figured that Aubree would be tired after our long day, but I hoped that she would be patient enough to make it at least through the opening of gifts at a baby shower.  Not only did she make it through the opening of gifts, she let me eat, flirted with every single person there, tried to roll from back to front, and made some new friends.  It was a good time.  I was so proud of her.  She’s so good in those types of situations.  She’s good in MOST situations.  Save for a wedding.  She wasn’t such a fan of that.  I guess you win some, you lose some.  Admittedly it was a Catholic wedding and those tend to be lengthy, with lots of standing, sitting, and kneeling, and kind of confusing to Protestants.  We’re WAAAAY too Baptist for a Catholic wedding.  Anyway, I digress.  She did really good.  She just laid in the floor kicking her feet, smiling, talking, laughing and playing with anyone who would look at her for more than 2 seconds, which was, well… everyone!  I’m one proud mama.

Why is it utterly impossible to find any good medical information on the internet?  I understand that there is a lot of “hokum” (I’m currently obsessed with The Big Bang Theory) out there, but why can’t the real information be brought to the forefront of searches.  Do doctors and vets have the internet at gun point or something?  “You can’t put real information out there for people to find easily, they have to come to us to spend money.”  Yes, I know it is unwise to use the internet to diagnose oneself.  I just wish I could find a good reference so that I know what I should be looking for in certain situations.

“My toe hurts.”  WebMD answer – “You have cancer and you’re going to die.”
“I have a headache.”  WebMD answer – “You have a brain tumor and you’re going to die.”
“I feel dizzy.”  WebMD answer – “You have cancer and you’re going to die.

Pet related!
“My dog has a rash on his belly.”  PetMD (yes it exists) – “Is his hair falling out.”  My answer “Yes.”  PetMD answer – “He has mange and is going to die.”

And you can’t look at any of the images of anything because they’re horrifying!  (For the record, my toe doesn’t hurt, sometimes I get headaches, just like everyone else in the world, and let’s just not go into the dizzyness, I’m pretty sure my sister and mom will yell at me.)  My dog does however have a rash on his belly.  And his hair is falling out.  He doesn’t have bald spots, he just sheds really intensely in the summer.  He’s always done that.  He’s doing it REALLY bad this summer, particularly the last week… probably because it is a million degrees outside and animals really are built for survival.  Fortunately (or unfortunately for unsuspecting little ole me), the images of mange don’t look anything like what Seamus has on his belly.  I am wondering if maybe the big doof plopped down on one of the hot cobblestones outside and got a heat rash.  I’m going to keep an eye on it and pray that it gets better.  I don’t want to have to take him to the vet.  He’s also getting a really good bath and a peroxide treatment at some point next week.  I’m sure that will make a wall-eyed mess out of my bathtub.  I’m sure getting him in and out of it will be a treat.  He doesn’t really love bath time, but he tolerates it better than the Holy Terror (Lola).  He does kind of become dead weight though.  Stay tuned for an update on that.  If it’s really entertaining, I’ll take pictures.  Or I’ll rant because I’m soaking wet and covered in dog hair.  I’m sure someone will laugh.  I just hope I’m laughing too.

Y’all have a good night.  I’m exhausterated!

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

