Happy 4th of July!

Standard

What a good day.  I’m not sure what I expected from today.  This is Andrew’s favorite holiday, so I wasn’t sure how it would go for me, how it would go for him and how our conversation on the phone would go.  Well, for me and Aubree it went well.  We went to go see Mimi and Pop Pop.  Great Grandpa Boyce was there too.  Aubree had more attention than she knew what to do with.  It was so fun.  Momma made ribs and salad and corn.  It was delicious.  I also ate watermelon.  That’s a big deal since I pretty much hate watermelon.

The conversation with Andrew didn’t go as well.  Naturally he’s sad.  Aubree was very talkative on the phone with him, and she’s rolling over (inconsistently), and he’s missing it.  I understand why he’s sad.  I wish I could help him more.  I just don’t know what to do or say.  We’re in two different places emotionally.  I’m able to be alright(ish) because I have things I have to do.  I HAVE to work.  I HAVE to raise our daughter.  He just sits and stews… all day…  I need to work on being more understanding.  I’m not very good at that.  I come more from the school of get over it and move on.  He did seem happy that Miss Aubree had such an involved conversation with him.

Coming back from Texico was treacherous, to say the least.  They had a storm come on just as I was leaving.  Fireworks in Clovis got cancelled because of it.  I got just outside of Sudan, and a whole bunch of sand blew in a few months ago.  Well it was blowing tonight too.  It was so dense I couldn’t see.  I had to stop and wait it out a little.  You know… I don’t mind driving in rain.  I don’t even mind driving in snow that much (as long as there is no ice), but man I sure hate driving in the wind!  Eek!  I did make it home safe, though.  Phew!

You know… there is no good way to get a baby out of a car seat without waking her up…  Fortunately, we changed diapers, clothes, talked a little, swaddled her, gave her her binki and now she’s back to sleep.  Hope she stays that way.  She had a big day.  She needs her rest.  Oh boy!  It’s 10:30, so do I!!

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

