Politics and Stress

Standard

Ok… the older I get (I find myself saying that a lot, and may have to do a post totally on “the-older-I-get’s” the more I find that politics legit stress. me. out.  I don’t like thinking about them really.  I don’t like talking about them and…. Sara…. Kyla…. anyone who knew me in my former high school life….this will shock the crap out of you… I don’t like arguing about them.

Well the recent decision by the Supreme Court to uphold the Obama health care law.  So now, what… People who don’t have insurance are going to get taxed for not having it?  What about people who have jobs, but their companies/workplaces/whatever don’t provide it?  Do they have to find it somewhere else?  Finding insurance on your own is super expensive!

I don’t even know why this has me so stressed.  Except that I care about other people (kinda… sometimes) and lots of my friends don’t have insurance.  As far as I’m aware, my mom and dad don’t either.  (That really worries me for them!)  And that politics in general have just really started stressing me out.  Our country is in such a sad state.

I think part of the reason I stress so much, is because I just don’t understand things.  And you can never get a straight answer from anyone.  We all have our preconceived notions that we answer questions with.  We all answer the way WE see it, never the way it actually is.  Democrats, Republicans, Libertarians, we all have our preferences and biases. I just don’t know.  News, Facebook, television are going to be so charged today.  I just don’t think I want anything to do with it.  Yuck!

About stepheniejones

I'm currently an advisor in the College of Education at Texas Tech. I have a sweet baby girl named Aubree. I'm currently getting my Master's in Counselor Education with an emphasis on Community Counseling. I feel really called to be a counselor. I'm really excited! I enjoy reading, crocheting, good music, and good friends.

Leave a Reply

